Falls Church Student Among 2022 US Presidential Scholars

FALLS CHURCH, VA – Thomas Jefferson High School for Science & Technology student Helen J. Dunn of Falls Church was selected as a 2022 US Presidential Scholar.

Dunn is one of 161 US high school seniors named 2022 US Presidential Scholars. An online recognition program is planned this summer to honor the Presidential Scholars.

“Our 2022 Presidential Scholars represent the best of America, and remind us that when empowered by education, there are no limits to what our young people can achieve,” said US Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona in a statement Thursday. “Throughout one of the most trying periods in our nation’s history and amid our recovery from the pandemic, our students have once again demonstrated their strength and that they have contributed so much to our country. Thanks to them, I know America’s future is bright. . “

As part of the Presidential Scholar Program, each winner names their most influential teacher, who receives a personal letter from the US Secretary of Education. Dunn recognized Stephen Ballard, a band teacher at Thomas Jefferson High School for Science & Technology.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars chose Presidential Scholars based on their academic achievement, artistic excellence, technical expertise, leadership, citizenship, service, and contributions to the school and community. Over 5,000 students qualified for the 2022 Presidential Scholar Awards based on their SAT or ACT scores, or nominations from school officials or partner organizations.

Presidential Scholars include a young man and a young woman from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and US families living abroad. In addition, the commission selected 15 at-large presidential scholars, 20 in the arts, and 20 in career and technical education.

The Presidential Scholar program dates back to 1964 and has honored approximately 7,900 students. The program has been expanded in 1979 to recognize students in the visual, literary and performing arts and to 2015 students in career and technical education.

Other Presidential Scholars from Virginia include Ayana Ashanti Askew of Norfolk, a Booker T. Washington High School student; Maya Koenig of Arlington, a Washington-Liberty High School student; Benjamin Choi of McLean, a student at The Potomac School; and Uma Pillai of Potomac Falls, a Potomac Falls High School student.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker